Defensive Pistol Skills 201 (Intermediate level)

Sidebar: My shooting has improved exponentially due to RPD classes. I was able to demo fast, tight groups with all of my pistols. I am so thankful for the quality training and encouragement that I've received. Many of you have been involved in some phase or other and I appreciate every bit of it. Somewhere along the line, someone(s)' life will be saved as we share this vital information. I honestly see it as a high calling. Keep plowing ahead...

Fred M Dansville, NY


UNRESTRICTED CARRY PERMIT TRAINING (UCPT)

Hi Dave, My Name is John Monaco and I attended one of your classes on Feb 19 & 20,2010 and it was the Concealed Carry Permit Upgrade Training Class. I didn't have the pleasure to meet you at that class but I thought so highly of the first class I'm going to sign up for the 201 class on April 17 and maybe we will meet then. Mike Chalson was the trainer and was assisted by Jim Chesko. They were both exemplary instructors I have spokne to other people who have recently taken classes to upgrade their permits from other organizations holding classes and I understand the level of training and attention to detail is not even close to being in the same league as your classes. Basically, the other ones are inadequate. Your class was full of all the right information to keep you educated and safe. I thought Mike was Interesting, Serious and Fun at times. I'm sure he could see I needed a little more attention then some others and he never failed to be there to help me and instill to me what was most important and safe. I learned a lot attending your class. Best money ever spent. Since my first safety class, I have been practicing everything Mike has shown me and I'm sure I'll get better as time goes on. Just to let you know, I'm a Music Teacher and a professional Musician and in my humble opinion the best teachers don't only teach, but they inspire you to want to learn more and practice more and Mike has certainly done that! I have Joined Tioga County Sportsmens Association and I have joined there because of the classes I attended through Rochester Personal Defense, LLC. I wish their web site had a bit more information on it. Thanks for everything and hope to meet you at a upcoming class. Best Wishes,

John Monaco Endicott, NY


Basic Self Defense (SD101)

I just wanted to Thank You once again for the great class on self-defense yesterday. It was very helpful for myself, but also made my teenager Diana more aware of her surroundings, which is what I had hoped for. Thank You for pointing out the "date rape" drug; and the numerous ways to break out of the common holds. I appreciate your directness & seriousness about the various subjects that teens tend to "laugh" about when their parents try to explain it to them. It helps coming from another adult / parent who has actually seen these things really take place. I would like to continue taking classes with Diana. I'll give her time to spread the news to her friends; we know that they "talk"; maybe they may want to try it themselves! I also have a soon-to-be-13 yr old daughter who will also need to learn these skills. I will keep your website marked for future dates. I will be sure to drop your name to groups of friends or others who may be looking for self-defense for themselves. Thanks again, not only for the techniques, but for the manner that you present them. You know the information that we want & need, and how to deliver it! It was great!

Gaylene , NY


Concealed Carry Upgrade Training

I just completed your DPS101/CCW Upgrade Classes and must thank you again. The instruction was invaluable and the 3 instructors very enjoyable to learn from. Your teaching abilities and sense of humor made learning new concepts and motor skills a joy. I WILL be taking more classes from you in the future and will recommend you to anyone I know with a pistol. It was money well spent. On the other hand, I got to shoot several boxes of ammo and spend time with lots of other people with handguns - how can you NOT love that?

Robert Hynes III Binghamton, NY


Concealed Carry Upgrade Training

I just completed your DPS101/CCW Upgrade Classes and must thank you again. The instruction was invaluable and the 3 instructors very enjoyable to learn from. Your teaching abilities and sense of humor made learning new concepts and motor skills a joy. I WILL be taking more classes from you in the future and will recommend you to anyone I know with a pistol. It was money well spent. On the other hand, I got to shoot several boxes of ammo and spend time with lots of other people with handguns - how can you NOT love that?

D.H. Broome County, NY


Basic Defensive Handgun (BDH)

"If anybody is interested in learning to shoot the safe and correct way, this team of instructors are the absolute best! I have had ALOT of different ones, even police trainers and Dave and his team nailed it! I learned more in one day than the 40+ years i have been shooting. They totally know how to teach do every level of shooter can learn. Can't wait to chose my next class!"

Terry V Rochester, NY


Defensive Pistol Skills 101 (DPS101)

I wont take a lot of your tim,e but I need to say something about the DPS101 training. The information, the range training, you and your staff are top shelf and nice. However, your course design and presentation makes a former human relations trainer envious. If I were still doing training I would be asking you for classes in your training model. Also, the training manual from the class is reviewed often. Im looking forward to the DPS201 course. Im not a puppy anymore. Age slows one down, your arthritic thumb hurts today, etc,. I need to be better trained than the bad guy I might have to face. Im attempting to change things around so I can sign-up for the next class Again, thanks Dave to you and your staff. May you all be safe.

B.C. Rochester, NY


DPS201/301 Combined Training

Dave, Awesome course! I got both faster and more accurate and can definitely see the added benefits of high-level training!

A. S. , NY


Basic Self Defense (BSD101)

Thanks so much for the course today! It was wonderful. Beforehand, I was afraid the instructors would be macho guys like the ones who taught the hunter safety course I went to. You can imagine how glad I was to find you an encouraging and confidence-boosting person who wasn't about to make fun of me for not knowing something! In fact there are a lot of things I was afraid of before that do not scare me anymore. I think the biggest thing I learned is not so much that I can and should do something in the event that I am attacked, but what some of my options are and confidence. If I had been attacked before this, I would likely have frozen thinking, "I should know what to do! I have to do something or this will be my fault!" but draw a complete blank on workable options. Now I know some options and I am excited about learning and practicing more in the near future. I may never have been attacked, but there have been times that fear and emotional intimidation of others has overpowered me because I was afraid it could become physical. It will not happen again though, because I know I can win if someone does resort to physical methods. You may never know what this has done for me, but THANK YOU!

A. P. , NY


USCCA Instructor Certification Course

USCCA Instructor Certification Course Another amazing class delivered with precision and professionalism. Dave and Wendy did a fantastic job with the USCCA instructors training. This is one of the latest courses offered by RPD, LLC and it was executed smoothly with a good mix of classroom and range time in order to drive home the critical skills required to become an instructor with the US Concealed Carry Association. Over the past seven years I have taken a number of courses from RPD, LLC and have never been disappointed. This time I drove 800 miles from Florida to NY to take this class from RPD, LLC. No matter where you live, if you are looking to go to the next level, these are the people you want to see.

Jim Sloey Cape Coral, FLA


NRA Personal Protection Outside the Home Instructor Workshop

Dave, I would like to say "Thank You' for the EXCELLENT class you and Ian put on this weekend. To be honest I was concerned that after driving the 504 miles I could end up in a "Dawson Instruction Class" with a bunch of yo-yo's to the point I brought my body armor, K-30 plate and old Army dog tags [blood type on them] with me. After seeing your facility,meeting with you in person and working with you at the Range on Friday my fears were eliminated to the point I knew that anyone who was going to be there over the weekend would be safe and competent. The vest and dog tags stayed in my Jeep.

 

I truly enjoyed myself and learned A LOT! You and Ian did an EXCELLENT job of  instructing the class, which is certainly not "Basic Pistol" You two were professional, safety driven and strived for excellence in all who attended. I could not have asked for more.

 

In my 20 + years of being a Police Officer and Firearms Instructor, going to 2 Police Academys in MA and ME and dozens of classes, courses and updates I have now written a "Thank You" letter to a total of 3 Instructors, so this is not something I pass out like Halloween candy.

 

I would definetely drive the 504 miles again to train with you and Ian with no reservations whatsoever. I hope to see you guys up here in the "Pine Tree State" this Summer.

 

Thanks Again

Ian T. ,


Concealed Carry Basics - For Women Only

I took the Ladies Concealed Carry Basics course today (06/27/15) in Canandaigua. This class was an awesome experience! I just wanted to say thank you to you, and more importantly, thank you to Wendy, Melodie, and Terri. They were incredible! I immediately felt comfortable with them. From the start, they were friendly, warm, and approachable. They were incredibly knowledgeable. They provided a relaxed and fun setting to learn about the serious topic of firearms. I felt comfortable asking any questions I had, no matter how minor they were. The instructors were patient and really took the time to learn about each woman in the class. There is something about learning in a group comprised soley of women that is empowering. I left class today feeling confident and stronger in my knowledge of my firearm. Thank you for allowing me this opportunity and please extend my sincere appreciation to Wendy, Melodie, and Terri!

Maggie Rochester, NY


NRA Certified Pistol Instructor Workshop

HI Dave, thank you again for a great weekend of training and I can promise you that I will be back for more. I want to get as much training as I can to be able to teach as much as I can. Also thank you for not being the " short cut guy " it is important to me that the training I get reflect myself and how I believe firearms should be treated as to protect our rights of the second amendment. Thanks again Dean C

Dean C Gillett, PA


Utah and Florida Dual Certification Permit Training

Dave, Just a quick note regarding the Utah/Florida training that I attended this past Sunday (12/19/10). Like all other Rochester Personal Defense, LLC courses that I have attended, the course was informative, with the material presented by "high caliber" instructors who clearly take the material and gun safety in general very seriously! Given the current political environment, Rochester Personal Defense, LLC is providing a much needed service. I will continue to use and recommend Rochester Personal Defense, LLC.

Jeff Johnson Rochester, NY


Utah and Florida Dual Certification Permit Training

Rochester Personal Defense offers a great training experience from a professional staff for a great value.

John Thompson , NY


Basic Self Defense (SD101)

Where do I begin? When I met Dave, I was extremely fragile. I had no self esteem, being a victim of "Domestic Violence". His teachings are informational and they do WORK. I personally have some issues with specific instances and Dave has helped me overcome them slowly at my own pace. His techniques work. I practice consistantly and have actually used a couple in different situations. As a woman, I was tired of being mentally and physically challenged and afraid. I found myself weak. In working with Dave for almost a year, I can hold my head high and be confident that I will not be a victim anymore. The techniques are simple and get the job done. I have been to many of Dave's classes. He is always willing to approach different situations. Every person has different issues and Dave takes each one as if it were the most difficult situation. I have brought this training to the attention of my family and co-workers. Many of them have attended his classes. The lecture part of his classes are so informational. I found myself going out and buying books to read, walking differently and becoming more alert in my surroundings. The demonstational classes are a lot of fun and seem real. Dave takes situations and applies them to everyday life. I recommend women, children and men take Dave's training classes. I am a much stronger individual physically and mentally for taking that initial step and calling Dave! Besides, who does not like having their own personal trainer? Thank you Dave!!!!"

D.H. Chili, NY


Basic Self Defense (SD101)

I found Dave through his website when I was looking for a class in self defense. I'm a senior in highschool and want to be able to look after myself when I go to college. After talking to him, I attended his Basic Self Defense class and was, well, surprised at myself. What he talked about made me think (I guess that's the idea) and made me realize how easy it was to not pay attention to stuff going on around you. I was actually worried about the skills as I had never done anything like this before. When it came time to use my skills on Dave (in his HUGE padded suit!!) I was so nervous I felt I was shaking. After three tries, I got it right and nailed him right where I needed to!! Once I got it, I could not stop, I wanted another turn, and another, and... well, I had to stop soon. I think now my Dad wants to take a class after seeing what it did for me! All I can say is that I got more than I expected, and want to keep going. Thanks Dave!

A.M. Fairport, NY


Basic Self Defense (SD101)

As a woman, it is tough to find someone you trust to teach you the important, sensitive, and personal stuff that you really need to know. Well, I found someone! I attended one of Dave's classes a little while ago as I was worried about getting attacked, mostly where I work. The parking lot is usually empty or dark, and I don't live in the safest of areas either. A friend of mine had attended some classes that Dave had and told me about them. After a lot of pushing from her, I finally went. There were 13 people in the class and 8 of them were women! I thought I was the only one worried about stuff like this. Walking into the classroom was actually the toughest part. Right from the start, Dave and his assistants made me feel comfortable (and not all girly!). There was a lecture part that really opened my eyes and then we all got up and started doing some great movements. I found everything to be easy and I could see where the skills I was learning would really do something. He even had this padded suit that made him look HUGE that I really could just hit hard! He would grab me or get me to do something and I could just wail on him. That was the first time I acutally hit something and felt good about it! I left there feeling a lot better about myself and a lot less worried about going to and from my car, or anywhere else, like shopping or whatever. I have since told all of my friends about Dave and what he teaches. I plan on bringing a couple of my closest friends to his next one and then bugging him to tell me when I can take the next level. Don't think you can pass this up. I was scared and did not know where to go to learn self defense at all. I did not want to learn karate or whatever, I just wanted to know how to take care of myself. I learned it from Dave! He has this saying: "Everyone has the right to defend themselves, what are YOU doing about it?" He means is and he teaches it.

A.W. Webster, NY


UNRESTRICTED CARRY PERMIT TRAINING (UCPT)

Dave; I want to thank you for the class yesterday! I did a poor job on your class survey last night and wanted you to know more of my feelings. For once I have attended a "class" or "training" (I use quotes as this is what many have called previous efforts to sway people to an opinion.) You came across in a non condescending manner and your class was excellent. Through your class I was able to reinforce that my ideas on guns and concealed carry were accurate. I especially liked your use of common sense and how you defuse the ideas of many gun owners with regards to right to carry which comes across as arrogant. Even though you are not politically correct with your statement "we are held to a higher standard" it is true and people should think about it before we act or react to everyday things that happen to us. I still do not have anything to suggest to improve your class but do have praise for the way you conducted the class and your interaction with the students. I did not enter your class to learn to shoot better but more to obtain my unrestricted permit as well as gain more safety information. I came away with a better awareness of the law along with ways of adding safety to my gun use and carry. In addition, as hard as it is for me to be verbal, I am seeing the importance of this. And yes - even your instruction to the class on shooting I believe will help me to become a better shooter. You will see me in your advanced course in the spring/summer along with the Florida/Utah course next month. Keep it up and I hope others gain as much as I did, for I have always had an issue with many people who own guns and really do not know how to deal with them and the consequences of the gun.

Blair Dyer Binghamton, NY


Concealed Carry Basics - For Women Only

Wanted to pass along feedback that the Concealed Carry Basics class with Deborah and Darcy on 6/19 was exceptional. As someone who was nervous about the class and generally fearful, I felt both instructors were fantastic in understanding my concerns and working me through them. This was especially evident when a jam occurred with my pistol (which a gunsmith has attributed to bad ammunition), and they were able to talk me through it and use it as a teachable moment for the class. I will highly recommend your organization and instructors to others. Well worth the drive from Buffalo!

Jeannie Buffalo, NY


Defensive Pistol Skills 101 (DPS101)

I recently took Dave's Defensive Firearms Skills 1 and 2 class and have to commend Dave, and his staff, on a highly professional, yet easy going and fun training session. Dave and his team presented the information in a clear, easy to understand manner with the intensity needed to make all crucial skill sets known. Defensive firearms skills are not a subject to take light hearted or as a game, and Dave made that point clear. What is unique about Dave is that he can present very serious information in a manner that nails the important points across yet keeps you laughing all day and doesn't make you uncomfortable. For me, a 26 year old female, I was shy at first, and I was hesitant to take the class because I didn't want to be bombarded by people trying to convince me that I should carry my firearm. It has been something I've been considering and this class definitely helped me feel more confident in myself to where, if I would decide to carry, I would know how to properly use my firearm and make it a tool of protection and not harm. Dave makes you comfortable and dose not enforce his views on you, he is there to help you learn what you need to to make the right decision for you and you alone. You can tell he truly cares! I highly recommend this class for anyone person who carries, is considering carrying or is just interested in getting into shooting. Thanks again Dave, this class helped build my self confidence and my shooting skills!

Stacy East Rochester, NY


NRA Basic Pistol

Hi Dave, Just wanted to let you know the only reason I signed up for the class was to be able to take the Utah/Florida Non Resident Carry Class. Denis and Matt were very nice, friendly and made the class go by quick. I've been shooting for about a year and though I enjoy it, I was always frustrated after shooting because I was not able to hit the target 50 feet away on a regular basis. Denis pointed out to me that my trigger finger was going further than it needed to on the trigger. When the class was done, I left getting the certificate I needed to take my next class. Not once did I think I would be able to shoot better than I did before I took the class. Well, today I went out shooting and I was able to consistently hit the target 50 feet away with my Ruger LCP, Ruger SR9c and my Glock 23. Also, I was able to hit the bulls eye on each of the targets I put up. All by adjusting my trigger finger like Denis instructed me to. Although I'm not going to win Top Shot anytime soon, I'm very thankful to the instructors for making my shooting experience better. Defensive Pistol Skills 101 will be next for me. Thanks and See you guys soon! Julio

Julio Rochester, NY


NRA Basic Pistol

Mr. Scott,

Thank you for your patience with my wife and me yesterday. It was a struggle for us (and you too), but we felt it necessary that we take training.

We left the session with two things:
1. the small beginnings of confidence
2. a *full *understanding that we need to practice and sharpen our focus to develop the safe habits you teach and use. We intend to do so.

Heartfelt thanks again for your patience, your extra help, your advice on different target pistols, and your assistance all day.

Steve Murphy ,


Defensive Pistol Skills 101 (DPS101)

Dave is a patient instructor who works through each part of the course -with care and attention to both detail and safety.

This class is worth every cent it costs and the time one invests. I never thought I could fire nearly 300 rounds of ammo in an afternoon with safety at the forefront of every event.

This experience gave me both a great sense of comfort with and respect for my firearm. Dave and his assistant instructors watch you like a hawk. Make a mistake and they catch and correct it.

Dave Jenkins is a born teacher. I know, I've been teaching for 32 years as a university professor. Dave loves his work and it shows.

Doug Honeoye , NY


Defensive Pistol Skills 201 (DPS201)

Dave, This past weekend (31 August 2013) I attended the DPS-201 class held at Rochester Brooks Gun Club. The instructors were Chris, Fred and Geno. I cannot adequately express how GREAT this class was. It started with the student to teacher ratio. We were privileged to have only six students in the class. While I'm sure this is an exception to normal operations, it was beneficial to every student there. The focused attention of two students to each instructor provided each of us with moment to moment feedback and positive reinforcement. Each of the instructors brought different experiences to the table which greatly benefited the group. I cannot speak highly enough of Chris, Fred and Geno. These guys are top notch and should be recognized for it! We had a lot of fun through the day building up each individual skill and then putting them together. Along with utilizing all of the skills from DPS-101 we added shooting from cover/concealment, PIE tactics, shooting while moving, close quarters defensive shooting with one hand to the mix. I'm sure there were more new skills but those really stuck out for me. The total round count for the day was just past 300 which seemed very comfortable for the group both in having the ammo and physically shooting it. The DPS-201 was active, full of information, presented new skills and just plain fun!! I am looking forward to taking the DPS-301 in the future. Thank you again, Joe Wurtenberg Rochester, NY

Joe Wurtenberg Rochester, NY


FULL/UNRESTRICTED CARRY PERMIT TRAINING (UCPT)

Hi Mike! We just wanted to say THANK YOU! My husband has not stopped talking about the course since Saturday, he had so much fun, learned so much, and can't wait to do many more courses with you. I had a great time as well. I was pretty nervous before hand and even in the beginning of the course mainly due to my pregnancy but some to do with only shooting once before a few weeks prior to the course and I have to say I had such a great time, my favorite part was shooting. I learned so much and would love to take another course with you once the baby has arrived. One of my girlfriends took the same course last year with you and she loved it as well. I felt so relaxed and really enjoyed myself, you and Don (correct me if I forgot his name) did such a great job. I didn't feel intimidated or judged I really took everything and learned from it and honestly I would have done the 150 rounds instead of the 50 if I wasn't pregnant..... its funny because the next day after the course I found myself sitting on the couch and having a craving for shooting at the range. Thank You so much again. Take Care. -Tyler & Christina James

Tyler & Christina James Binghamton, NY


Home Invasion and Defense

It was just a phenomenal class and exceeded my expectations. It trained me to be more aware of my surroundings. No more will I just get up and open the door when the doorbell rings - night or day. No, I didn't like spending time in that gross, creepy basement. But I learned things there that you couldn't reasonably teach upstairs in the light! In short, the class was well worth all the sore aching muscles it gave me! The role playing made me think more about what is actually going on. I never saw the window open in the room when I shot the drunk guy coming at me! I gave you a plug on my blog.

SB Rochester, NY


Defensive Pistol Skills 101 (DPS101)

I recently completed DPS 201/301 at RPD. Like all of the courses Ive attended, Dave and his team provided quality education and individualized attention that improved my skills and pushed me to think outside the box and respond instinctively. The basic skills that had been learned in previous classes were honed and tuned as bad habits were broken and new skills were added. I know that I am smoother and more reflexive than I was before the class and the new skills Ive learned are being integrated into my practice drills. So far I have taken RPDs Utah/Florida permit class, NRA Basic Pistol, Defensive Pistol 101, Defensive Pistol 201 and Defensive Pistol 301. Chris, Ray, Frank, Tink, Matt, Wendy and Dave have all provided outstanding and clear instruction in the safe and effective use of firearms coupled with plenty of range time. Mary has been most helpful when Ive called with a scheduling problem or billing question. I highly recommend RPDs courses to individuals of all skill levels who are looking for professional instruction and have a desire to improve how they safely and effectively handle themselves and their firearms in a variety of situations. I am looking forward to additional classes such as Low Light Handgun, Personal Protection Inside the home, Vehicle Defense Tactics and as my skills improve the NRA Pistol Instructor, NRA Range Safety Officer and of course Secret Squirrel Training.

Jim Sloey Rochester, NY


Defensive Pistol Skills 102 (Intensive Skills Class)

I recently took Dave's Defensive Firearms Skills 1 and 2 class and have to commend Dave, and his staff, on a highly professional, yet easy going and fun training session. Dave and his team presented the information in a clear, easy to understand manner with the intensity needed to make all crucial skill sets known. Defensive firearms skills are not a subject to take light hearted or as a game, and Dave made that point clear. What is unique about Dave is that he can present very serious information in a manner that nails the important points across yet keeps you laughing all day and doesn't make you uncomfortable. For me, a 26 year old female, I was shy at first, and I was hesitant to take the class because I didn't want to be bombarded by people trying to convince me that I should carry my firearm. It has been something I've been considering and this class definitely helped me feel more confident in myself to where, if I would decide to carry, I would know how to properly use my firearm and make it a tool of protection and not harm. Dave makes you comfortable and dose not enforce his views on you, he is there to help you learn what you need to to make the right decision for you and you alone. You can tell he truly cares! I highly recommend this class for anyone person who carries, is considering carrying or is just interested in getting into shooting. Thanks again Dave, this class helped build my self confidence and my shooting skills!

Stacy East Rochester, NY


Defensive Pistol Skills 101 (DPS101)

I've participated in several Rochester Personal Defense courses and Dave always goes above and beyond to make them valuable and eye-opening. Dave is more than a top-tier shooting instructor - he provides a spectrum of skills and options for students with various interests and needs. With a wealth of experience in law enforcement and the private sector, he blends real-world practicality with an innovative teaching approach that results in true preparedness and skill.

Dave Rea Pittsford, NY


NY Permit Legalities and Firearm Safety

An excellent course! Before you apply for a permit to carry a concealed handgun, wouldn't it be nice to know the power, legal responsibilities, risks and life style changes you're taking on? This program covers it all. It opened my eyes.

Rob Hoffmann Rochester, NY


Concealed Carry Basics

Dave, On behalf of myself, Anthony Pata and Matt Moore, I'd like to take a minute to commend your program and especially your staff! We took the CCW Basics (2/12/16) with Lew DiPetro and Butch McDonald; and the CCW1 (2/20/16) with Butch McDonald, Bob Rathke and Chris Schlierf; both in Canadaigua. I can't thank you enough for your guys. On a personal note, I'm extremely new to handguns. I have no family members that have ever hunted or been into pistols so I was very self-conscious and nervous about the classes. Every one of these guys have the skills to not only take the topic very serious but do so in a way that brings humor and kindness as well. They took the time to get to know each of us in the class by name, learn our personalities, and gave quiet corrections. The instructors have a fantastic relationship with each other too which creates an amazing environment. Their professionalism, camaraderie and respect are contagious and because of that the atmosphere of the class is one of encouragement, safety and enjoyment. Your curriculum is well thought out too. It is clear that a lot of time and effort has gone into developing a progression of skills with real life scenarios mixed in. Not only are we getting better at the basics of shooting a pistol, we are being introduced to the overwhelming emotions that we could face in the real world. We are pushed to think about "our plans" and asked to get out of our comfort zones a little and begin to prepare for a real life encounter to protect our families, God forbid. Carrying a handgun is a huge responsibility and unfortunately, a growing necessity. I wish more of the "good guys" would take these classes! Again, I can't thank you enough for the HIGH quality training you are providing for the average person. It is truly appreciated!

Dana Eells Rochester, NY


Concealed Carry Upgrade Training

I would like to thank Dave Jenkins and Mike Chalson for an incredible NY concealed upgrade and Defensive Pistol 101 class. I work as investigator for Texas Equusearch throughout the state of NY and this class will allowed me to carry my Firearm responsibly and legally through out the state. While I have worked with firearms through out the years, I learned more in 2 days with Dave than I have in over 15 years of firearms carry. I highly recommend this course to all who are deciding to carry a firearm for their safety and upgrade their NY license to full carry privelages. I will be attending pistol 201 and other classes to continue my education from these pros.

M.R. Binghamton, NY


Defensive Pistol Skills 101 (DPS101)

I just finished the DPS101 class and Dave asked us if we write a short note about our experience. Like almost everybody in the class I come from a background of hunting and all around gun knowledge. There were also a couple of first time pistol owners in the class. I am also in the New York State Guard and that has given me the opportunity to train with retired swat/sheriff, Rochester Police Dept Officers, state police officers, military MPs, and various instructors over the years, so I thought I new a lot about defensive shooting. Well, even with all my training over the years, I still was able to learn some new things from Dave and his instructors as well as some bad habits I was starting to do. The thing that impressed me the most is the level of professionalism and integrity that Dave, Wendy, and Chris possess. They kept the class fun and fluid at all times. It did not matter what your level of skill was, they would adapt their teaching technique to each student almost instantly. From someone like me with formal training to the new guy that only had his pistol for a week. By the end of the class everybody had improved and the targets proved that. If it was up to me I would make this class a requirement to obtain a pistol permit. They are that good in what they do. I will definitely be taking more if not all of the classes they have to offer. The only drawback is that I should have brought more ammo. You can never have enough. From now on, shooting targets standing still just will not do it for me any more.

James Schelkun Rochester , New York


FULL/UNRESTRICTED CARRY PERMIT TRAINING (UCPT)

Hello David; I recently took the Defensive handgun training course on April 27th in Baldwinsville. Wanted to let you know I thought it was amazing. After taking this course, I realized that I never should have even been carrying my pistol. The 5 hour mandated course to get the pistol permit is a JOKE!!! No one should carry until properly trained with a course like yours!!! Both instructors had incredible sense of humors which made the course great, but they were strict, safe, serious and professional all at the same time. I will recommend this course and your company to others. This course was worth EVERY penny spent. Feel free to use my testimonial in your ads! Thank you, Kelley Holmes-Morton

Kelley Holmes-Morton Syracuse, NY


Ladies Only NRA Basic Pistol

Hi Dave.....I cannot thank you enough for the wonderful seminar I attended on Sunday. It was top notch. All the instructors were wonderful. It was great to finally great to get to know my firearm inside and out and gain the knowledge I needed to safely carry. Firing it was unbelievable. Was surprised I still could do it relatively well. I carried for the first time Monday and felt very good about my decision to exercise my freedom after all these years. I do not feel as vulnerable as I use to. You and your instructors gave that to me Sunday. Be sure, I will be attending more of your classes. Again, thank you so very much. I truly appreciate everything you and your instructors do for us. Hopefully, my husband and I will see you soon on a Tuesday night in Penfield. Best regards,

S.M. Rochester, NY


UNRESTRICTED CARRY PERMIT TRAINING (UCPT)

Dave, I would like to personally thank you for the constructive educational learning in the Unrestricted Carry Permit Training class I took this weekend. I learned a lot, about the laws, safety and the moral responsibility of carrying a firearm, how to handle situations to make a student feel more confident. You presented different scenarios that a person might not think about. You added humor while still teaching the seriousness of being a firearm owner. Your awareness of each student and of his or her own level of ability was impressive. I like that you made sure each student reached the same level of the exercises before going on to the next one, that it was reinforced before another one began. I will tell everyone how awesome this class is. Education is knowledge, and you are a every educated, experienced instructor. I think everyone should take this class. You made me feel comfortable in the class. What more can I say.. I loved the class!! PS: I like the video on the web site you do on drawing the handgun effectively and safely,

J. K. Endicott, NY


Defensive Pistol Skills 101 (DPS101)

I think the class was great. Everything we did dealt with real life situations out there in the world. Now that you are giving me the knowledge and the skills that I just might need one day, I will do my part to perfect them the best way that I can. To keep it short, just keep doing what you are doing and I am looking forward to the many classes that I will be attending.

Todd L Rochester, NY


Home Invasion and Defense

It was just a phenomenal class and exceeded my expectations. It trained me to be more aware of my surroundings. No more will I just get up and open the door when the doorbell rings - night or day. No, I didn't like spending time in that gross, creepy basement. But I learned things there that you couldn't reasonably teach upstairs in the light! In short, the class was well worth all the sore aching muscles it gave me! The role playing made me think more about what is actually going on. I never saw the window open in the room when I shot the drunk guy coming at me! I gave you a plug on my blog. SB, Rochester, NY

SB Rochester, NY


Concealed Carry 1 (CCW-1)

Dave, On behalf of myself, Anthony Pata and Matt Moore, I'd like to take a minute to commend your program and especially your staff! We took the CCW1 (2/20/16) with Butch McDonald, Bob Rathke and Chris Schlierf; in Canadaigua. I can't thank you enough for your guys. On a personal note, I'm extremely new to handguns. I have no family members that have ever hunted or been into pistols so I was very self-conscious and nervous about the classes. Every one of these guys have the skills to not only take the topic very serious but do so in a way that brings humor and kindness as well. They took the time to get to know each of us in the class by name, learn our personalities, and gave quiet corrections. The instructors have a fantastic relationship with each other too which creates an amazing environment. Their professionalism, camaraderie and respect are contagious and because of that the atmosphere of the class is one of encouragement, safety and enjoyment. Your curriculum is well thought out too. It is clear that a lot of time and effort has gone into developing a progression of skills with real life scenarios mixed in. Not only are we getting better at the basics of shooting a pistol, we are being introduced to the overwhelming emotions that we could face in the real world. We are pushed to think about "our plans" and asked to get out of our comfort zones a little and begin to prepare for a real life encounter to protect our families, God forbid. Carrying a handgun is a huge responsibility and unfortunately, a growing necessity. I wish more of the "good guys" would take these classes! The three of us have had such a great time, can feel our confidence growing, are developing a deeper respect for the decision to carry, and are starting to crave more training and time with your instructors that we will be signing up for the CCW2 and CCW3 weekend combo. Again, I can't thank you enough for the HIGH quality training you are providing for the average person. It is truly appreciated!

Dana Eells Rochester, NY


DPS201/301 Combined Training

Excellent weekend! Had an absolute blast. The 301 in particularly pushed me just a little (but not too far) out of my comfort zone at times - I got that unsettling feeling in the pit of my gut that lets me know I'm doing something worthwhile and having fun. Thought you and the rest of RPD deserved a nice review, so here it goes: I have taken several handgun classes with RPD now and I can't get enough! Before signing up for my first live-fire course (which for me was the Unrestricted Carry Permit Training) I was hesitant for several reasons. I was concerned about my own skill level and whether I was ready to participate in the class. I was concerned about the safety and wisdom of participating in a class where a number of other non-expert students would all be handling pistols in close proximity to each other. I was concerned that if the course didn't prove worthwhile dedicating an entire day to the experience would prove tedious. My concerns were unnecessary on every count. I was able to contact RPD and speak directly with the course instructor about my current skill level. He asked me a number of questions and determined that I would be an acceptable candidate for the course. The morning classroom portion was interesting, often entertaining and provided incredible useful information and insights. When we got to the range I was truly impressed. The method used by RPD for managing range safety is incredible. Not once did I feel unsafe despite being in a class with a number of similarly inexperienced shooters. Every RPD instructor is vigilant in enforcing RPD's simple-to-remember and effective range safety rules. As far as my concerns about the class being tedious or not worthwhile – wow! I found myself wishing there were more hours in the day so we could keep going. My skills immediately and exponentially improved both during the class and in the following weeks as I practiced the techniques. I have since taken the Low Light Handgun Operator course (my personal favorite so far, and a good idea as most defensive situations occur at night and it was a lot harder to shoot in the dark than I thought it would be) and the 201 and 301 Defensive Pistol Skills courses you wouldn't believe the drills they will have you doing within the span of a day in these advanced courses, all without compromising range safety in the slightest. It's a fun, friendly and safe environment to learn in. I can't say enough positive things about RPD or their responsible and practical attitude and philosophies towards handgun safety and concealed carry.

B.T. , Central NY


UNRESTRICTED CARRY PERMIT TRAINING (UCPT)

Dave, I had my pistol permit in Broome County for 8 years when I took DPS 101 / CC Upgrade class with Rochester Personal Defense. It was a great learning experience. Not only did we cover all of the Laws and ethical responsibility of carrying a firearm concealed, we spent a lot of time on the range learning proper techniques. The instructors were very helpful and when the class was over I learned a lot. After the class I received my Broome county CC permit and also my non resident Florida CCW permit. I would recommend the training provided by Rochester Personal Defense to any one who owns a firearm.

K.T. Broome County, NY


Defensive Pistol Skills 101 (DPS101)

I took DPS-101 yesterday from Dave Jenkins' Rochester Personal Defense school. The training took place over at the Genesee Conservation League facility in Rochester, NY. Let me tell you folks something... this is the best money that you can spend. Dave and his team of instructors did a terrific job.

You are getting top flight training with a very low student to instructor ratio assuring that every mistake in technique will be identified and addressed by someone who has professional training. That is worth its weight in gold. You simply can't know what you are doing wrong alone. You need outside help.

Another thing is you can't learn a motor skill from books or online. You have to actually DO IT. And the DPS-101 class has you DOING things that you may not even be able to do anywhere else.

They start you with normal in class learning about techniques, the law, and other interesting things. I won't give away all that they teach. You have to sign up to find out. They use a building block system and start from simple things getting more and more complex as you go along.

By the end of the day you will be, in a single sequence, identifying a threat, moving, barking loud verbal commands, drawing your gun, barking more verbal commands, aiming, firing, clearing malfunctions, moving, scanning, barking commands, firing, moving, scanning, doing tactical reload, barking commands, moving, firing, scanning, tactical reload, moving, scanning, reholstering. <---- I did exactly that in one fairly smooth set of events during one training exercise.

Now if you think you can DO that by reading about it you are a heck of a lot better than I am. I can't. I had to be trained step by step and go through dozens of mistakes with one of the 4 instructors jumping in and stopping me to tell me what I was doing wrong and how to fix it. These skills can only be learned through actual experience.

There are other excellent schools and instructors. But you won't find many better than these guys and gals. And you certainly won't find a better VALUE for your training dollar. If there other courses are like this one, folks in the Rochester area have an INVALUABLE resource. Don't hesitate to take advantage of it... or maybe one day it won't be there. I can guarantee you that I will take advantage of it. I only wish we had something like this in Buffalo. But for now this is at least 150 mile training. Because I will travel over 150 miles to get more!!

PS... This message was not compensated or in any way solicited by Dave or his team. It is my personal opinion and my praise is offered because it was earned.

Breanne Corbett Buffalo, NY


Home Invasion and Defense

Mr Jenkins, I attended the training class today and wanted to share a couple of positive comments. First, I very much appreicate the attention paid to safety in the class. In my decades in handling guns (from the boy scout metit badge 45 years ago, military service, bullseye pistol, high power rifle, & skeet) I have mostly seen good gun handling actions, but boy the few bad ones sure stick with you! Second, I thought while the subject was serious, I enjoyed the modest level of humor used by both instructors. Third, sending the message that having a CCW does NOT turn you into a cowboy gunfighter nor give you permission to wave the gun around and intimate people was right on. Drawing your gun should be almost be a last resort. Forth is administrative - I think the document check on the way out was very helpful, making it less likely that I'll foul up the paperwork. Thanks again, DB

DB Rochester, NY


NY Permit Legalities and Firearm Safety

Hey Dave, I just wanted to say thanks for a great class last night. My wife and dad both thoroughly enjoyed it as well. This class cemented my interest in getting my permit if for no other reason than to take all of your defensive handgun classes. I thought the material and way it was presented was done so in a very professional manner and despite it being a 3 hour lecture, kept me interested and engaged the entire time. I am still on the fence regarding carrying: a personal choice I will need to work out for myself after more training, but I feel as if I'm much better equipped to approach that decision after taking this class. Looking forward to the next class!

Scott C Rochester, NY


Defensive Pistol Skills 101 (DPS101)

Dave and the instructors of RPD, LLC: I want to thank you for the great Defensive Pistol Skills 101 class that I just finished with you guys. It was very helpful to work on my form and grip. Regardless of how much I practice it does not help unless I practice the right thing, and now I can. My groups have become much tighter, and I feel in much more control. I will definitely be back for more advanced classes.

E. M Rochester, NY


Concealed Carry Upgrade Training

For over 40 years I owned and used long guns: 12 + 20 gauge; .22 saddle; .22 Hornet; 30-06. Until a year go, I never had a desire to own a pistol. Prior to receiving my pistol permit, I took RPD's Pre-Licensing Pistol Permit class in February 2008, where Dave covered all of the applicable penal laws, answering any and all questions.

After receiving my permit, I was fitted to--and purchased--a pistol. I went to the range once, but found I was a little intimidated: by not knowing how to care/maintain the pistol; by the fact I didn't know all of the safety rules; and by the firearm, itself. Let's face it... firearms can be very dangerous if not handled properly! I signed up for the May 2008 NRA Basic Pistol course with Dave in Owego, NY. Though the class was intense, Dave made everything OK by being clear; concise; witty, at times; and very, very patient. The most intense portion of the class was being on the firing line. But again, Dave was right there to talk me through what I had to do and give me assistance when I needed it.

After practicing and some dry-firing, I attended the Shooting Skills 101 class and Permit CC Upgrade Lecture in June 2008. The lecture was a refresher of the class from February, but it bore repeating. The Shooting Skills 101 class was again conducted in a clear, concise, sometimes witty, and very patient manner. One of the best parts of all of Dave's classes is that he backs up what he says with true facts, true accounts, and real demonstrations. Classes are never, ever dull! Dave always provides an answer for every question and will keep patiently going over it until every one has an understanding. The range work was wonderful, though tiring under the hot sun. Even so, I could have done more--I WANTED to do more. Each trip to the firing line on the range is truly a learning experience. As always, Dave is right there to assist and advise. I will take more of RPD's classes as they become available. You always feel comfortable, and his tutelage is fantastic. They are the BEST!!

A million thanks, Dave!!!

Mother Pearl Vestal, NY